Home

04

One of the best mix series I’ve ever heard – Quiet, comes from Sonia Güttler better known as Sonae. Sonae is Cologne – based, German deejay and producer. She debuted in august 2012 with Cologne EP on Astrangelyisolatedplace label. Her track Entmutigt has been released on two compilations: Elles on Sillage Intemporel and Pussy Riot Freedom Compilation by Female:Pressure. Sonae agreed for short interview for Tobiesobiemiastu. Enjoy the lecture.

Tobiesobiemiastu: World of electronic music is definitely ruled by men. How does it look from a woman perspective ?

Sonae: The structures of the scene are still dominated by men, though electronic music is not a boy’s club – there are lots of women around! To name a figure: female:pressure, an international network for female artists in electronic music, counts around and about 1.500 members – and it’s only one of many networks. I’ve discovered so very inspiring and talented ladies: Koloto, Mimicof, Poppy Ackroyd, Magnamine, Olive from Bristol … but it takes some effort to get female artists on your screen as we suffer a lack of public attention – sad result of male domination. The guys stick to their male dominated paths of finding music, recommending and booking artists, supporting and promoting favourites. We all need to do our homeworks and explore the female side of the music moon.

Tobiesobiemiastu: Tell me something about your music influences, please.

Sonae: Of course, the music I love is an influence on me why I select my favourite music for my mixes, and why you’ll find certain names again and again in my tracklistings. But it’s not my major inspiration. Inspiration for me is the weather and the four seasons, the bird’s singing, flowers and trees – equals nature, I guess. Also, the catalouge of human emotions and personal progress – feelings are very inspiring, a great energy that keeps my motor running. At least, there are some people close around me that simply inspire me. This can’t be forced and it’s hard to explain but these very few people just have to be in my life, and i can feel them becoming part of my inspiration.

Tobiesobiemiastu: Five favorites albums of all time ?

Sonae: Sigur Rós – Heim / Hvarf, Philip Glass – Glassworks, Max Richter – Antonio Vivaldi: Four Seasons Recomposed, Nils Frahm & Anne Müller – 7 Fingers, Hybrid – Morning Sci-Fi.

Tobiesobiemiastu: How does German Ambient scene look like ?

Sonae: I live in Cologne where we are gifted with a beautiful annual Ambient festival called Zivilisation der Liebe Civilisation of Love, and I should mention Kompakt’s genre contribution, the compilation series Pop Ambient. Not to forget German Ambient hero Markus Guentner who lives in Regensburg. Beyond that I don’t think the Ambient scene can be considered from national points of view, especially not from a German point of view. It feels more like an international scene to me. But I’m quite new in that – may be I’m completely wrong.

Tobiesobiemiastu: Plans for future ?

Sonae: Music, love and inner peace – that’s the major plan! And it’s next step will be release of the Shirley M. EP with Austrian musician Chra on her own label Comfortzone, probably early summer. Besides playing gigs – and I am seriously gifted with nothing but lovely gigs for quite a while now – like the upcoming show besides John Kameel-Farah at Weltmusikzimmer in Düsseldorf on June 7th.

Tobiesobiemiastu: Thanks !

Sonae: Thanks !

Please, don’t forget to check Sonae’s Quiet mix series on her mixcloud.

39778136

Leave a comment